When Jesus Is The Only Baby

This year at our house Jesus will be the only baby to talk about, over whom to awe.

By now, three years into our marriage, I would have thought otherwise.
I prayed otherwise. I believe otherwise. I did not receive what I wanted, however.

Since I don’t yet have children, many would say God has let me down. I disagree. He has heard my prayer, and He continues to prepare our hearts to become a family of three in His timing, not ours. His timetable just happens to be different from what I, in my humanity, had planned.

His timing always makes sense in hindsight. His timing is hardly ever my idea but always better than any idea I could conceive. In fact, His timing is always perfect.

After all, His ways and thoughts are indeed higher than any of ours. (Isaiah 55:8)

No one would have ever pictured God incarnate being born in a stable, being born to a teenage mother and a carpenter who could never promise Him a lavish lifestyle. No one would have ever thought Jesus would have spent the first thirty or so years of his life hardly known by anyone outside of his small community. No one would have ever thought after three years of ministry, Jesus, God Himself, would take the sins of the world upon Himself and die a brutal death, even having His father’s back turned on him for a time in the process.  No one would have ever thought the King of Kings would have lived the life, died the death, or came back to life the way He did.

But He did…and it was just the way it was supposed to be.
Now, over 2000 years later, we still stand in awe of the baby who came to bring those who trust in Him right standing with God.

And one day, Lord-willing next year, I will be a mom…and when that time comes, it will be just the way it is supposed to be.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby, Life, Sanctification

2 responses to “When Jesus Is The Only Baby

  1. My heart goes out to you, Amber. I know your desire. Lifting you up and praying 1cor 12:8 over. May God grant you the desire of your heart.

  2. Beautiful post, Amber, and I love your trusting attitude that God has good plans – because He does! You are in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

