Coming Alive

I haven’t had much time to blog lately.

….But I’m not complaining!I love working outside of the home. 🙂

I love my job, the people I’m blessed to work with, and the opportunity to serve the Lord and the community through my new position. There have definitely been some major adjustments around here as far as what does and doesn’t get done around here cleaning-wise/chore-wise. I’m thankful I have a gracious husband who, though he’s a detailed-oriented person and was used to a very clean house, hasn’t complained when the dishes haven’t been done, or the bed hasn’t been made, or a million other little things I used to do on a daily basis aren’t completed. It’s amazing how much house work one can get done while working from home; the little things definitely add up. My formerly spotless (for the most part) house hasn’t gone to pot, but it certainly has “suffered” from my career move. Oh, well.

I’d take being amongst people every day, while doing a job I adore, over a clean house any day!
My husband would agree…as long as I still promise to clean on Saturdays, which I do.  😉 My sexy husband has also started on Fridays making the grocery list and putting the coupons together before I come home from work (he gets home before me), so that we’re ready to start our errands as soon as I walk in the door.  I love him!

Needless to say, I’m extremely happy with where I am in life right now. I feel blessed beyond measure and in a great place emotionally, physically, and most importantly, spiritually. My new job has brought about a new-found feeling of purpose inside of me, one that has been waning for a very long time. I don’t have time to expound upon those feelings now, but I will in the near future. My career is not the most important thing to me (my relationship with the Lord is first, with John second), but it certainly does help to be in a position which compliments my personality and gift mix,  challenges me, and makes me feel useful and appreciated every day from 8:00am-5:00pm.

After a long, hard season of life, which ended with a really dark time, I am thankful to be coming alive again. It feels like my Spring after a very long Winter. Though it was difficult, I am thankful for the season of life through which I previously walked, for what all it taught me and how it brought me closer to the Lord. I’m sure hard times will come again, but as my favorite hymn says, “Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, “It is well, it is well with my soul.”

 

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Purpose, Sanctification

One response to “Coming Alive

  1. Love that hymn. “I’m well” has become my standard response when asked how I am, no matter what sea billows are rolling over. If not for Mr. Spafford’s terrible trials, he could not have penned those words…

Leave a Reply

