The Road From Here

Tomorrow is the start of a new journey for me, the start of a new chapter in my life.
Why, you ask?
It’ll be the first day of my new job. 🙂

I’m rather excited, if you couldn’t tell. It’ll be the first time since November of 2009 that I’ll be working outside of our home; it’ll be the first day of our marriage where we’ll both be getting ready to go to work. Going to the couch, like I did for 2+ years to work remotely, really doesn’t count as “going” to work, I guess. I’m about to say goodbye to my sweats and hello to my power suits, but I’m more than OK with that.  Back when I was on the road speaking, I used to love dressing up every day, even days when I wasn’t necessary. I am kind of sad that dressing up on Sunday won’t seem as special anymore, but my husband’s excited that he’ll get to see me in nice clothes and makeup more than just once a week.  He’s most excited about the fact that he’ll no longer be tackled at the door by his crazy, outgoing wife who hasn’t had any human interaction most – if not all – of the day and is in dire need of communication with someone other than herself. 😉

Sure,  leaving home has its “cons.” I’ll have to not just get up and head to the couch but instead actually do something with myself. I’ll also have to pack a lunch now instead of having the liberty to head to the cupboard or fridge whenever I want. I won’t be able to just put a load of laundry in during the day, do a bit of light cleaning at lunch, or anything else house-wife from 8:00am-5:00pm, but I’ll get to see and serve people all day and get paid to do it!! 🙂  I feel like I’m the fourth winner of the $640 million jackpot, and I haven’t even made a dime yet off of my new job.

The road from here seems extremely bright. I know, though, that there will be plenty of ups and downs along the way, just like with everything else. I’m prepared for that. I’ve dealt with my share of hardship before and am actually quite comfortable with facing adversity, sometimes even more so than embracing God’s gracious gifts (just being honest).

No matter what happens tomorrow, a year from now, or ten years from now, I know He has a plan for me to bring Him glory. For now, that plan happens to involve leaving my old career and embracing this new privilege and opportunity. No matter what lies ahead, I am so excited about this turn down the road of life and plan on enjoying the scenery while I can. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under grace, Life, Purpose

Leave a Reply

