Obedience = Peace

I accepted a job offer today. 🙂


As of Monday, April 2nd, I will be a Sales Account Executive for WTLW, a local Christian television station, and their partner station, WOSN. I am beyond thrilled to start this new leg of my journey! In late middle school and high school, before God completely changed my plans (the whole transplant thing, writing a book, speaking, etc.), I had great aspirations of graduating from Cedarville, going on to Columbia University and then co-anchoring TODAY with Matt Lauer. Well, after several years of doing other things, I’m not going to be on camera with my new job (will be serving through sales), but I have made it to a TV station, nonetheless. 🙂

As I look back over the past month or so of my life, I am floored at how the Lord has worked in my life. You never think you’re going to wake up one day and life will change forever, but that’s exactly what happened to me on February 9th. The days that immediately followed were hard, to say the least, but He was sovereign through it all. He had a plan, even when I couldn’t see it. He had a plan, even when leaving my job and canceling my publishing agreement, mind you in the middle of a major overhaul of the book, didn’t make sense. I just had to be obedient through it all, even when the pain that came from doing so seemed too much to bear.

The past few weeks, I’ve been reminded that obedience on this earth can be costly.
It’s not always fun in the moment.
It’s not always pretty.
It’s not always what you had in mind.
It’s not always what your spouse had in mind.
It can cost you money, lots of it.
It can cost you your reputation.
It can make you think you’re losing your mind.
It can be quite lonely.

It’s worth it, though, people.
Take it from a girl who during her Christian walk has obeyed and reaped the fruits of my labor and also disobeyed and reaped the fruit of that, as well.  Obedience is always the better way, even if it seems like the harder way at the time.

When I chose to obey and leave my job behind I didn’t know I was going to be gainfully employed again so soon. No, I didn’t know I was going to be offered a job I know I am going to love and an opportunity to serve a company about which I am passionate.  To be honest, I had my doubts, especially in this economy, but God worked (as He always does) despite my unbelief.

I realize I am blessed beyond measure to have many things in life, including this new job, but the peace that comes from obedience means more to me than all of that combined; it’s a peace that is not rooted in circumstances but instead in being in the perfect will of God. Notice I didn’t say “safe” will, as I don’t always believe that His will is going to be seen as “safe,” at least to those who don’t have a relationship with Him and consequently a heavenly perspective.

Whether it’s seen as “safe” or not by those around me, there’s no other place than His will I’d rather be – job or not, health or not, children or not, life itself or not. I can sit around and worry about what will transpire in my life, or I can just live in obedience for the glory of His name and take it one day at a time.

Today His will for me was to accept this new position and start this new leg of my journey for the glory of His name. I couldn’t be happier to do so. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Purpose

3 responses to “Obedience = Peace

  1. meganadams226

    I am so honored to be your friend, Amber! You are a wonderful woman, thank-you for reminding of the powerful imperative to live now, to enjoy life despite all the ups and downs and to be obedient!

  2. Jessica

    I was thinking about you this morning…though the enemy tried to accuse you and put doubts in your mind about quiting your job in this climate you chose to take every thought captive and make it obedient. You know the voice of your Savior and though the enemy’s growl is loud and sounds really scary you chose not to listen to a stranger instead you chose to follow the voice of the Good Shepherd, Jesus Christ! May God bless you and others through this new job.

  3. And only GOD knew the common bond you would have with others who GOD was leading out the same doors and into new adventures!

Leave a Reply

