“Can You Hear Me Now?”

My cell phone doesn’t always cooperate, especially when it comes to receiving text messages.

For instance, just the other day, I asked my good friend how her latest race went. She responded with, “I texted you back yesterday. It went great!” Of course I was happy for her, but I was also frustrated with my phone for not giving me the message. It made me wonder just how many lost text messages directed to me are out there (If one of them is yours, I didn’t purposefully fail to respond! ;)). 

Then I got thinking about how sometimes God must feel that same frustration toward me.

I get frustrated with my “wayward” phone. He gets frustrated with his wayward child. As much as I want to believe I do, I don’t always read His Word with an open heart looking to respond, like I not only read text messages I get but always happily respond and interact with the person on the other end of the phone. Worse yet, some days I am ashamed to say I don’t even “download” His Word into my heart, which has a 100% track record of being available, let alone let it change me.

Especially right now with a lot more free time than I’m used to, instead of making the most of it, I get caught up in Facebook statuses, Pinterest pins, and Hulu clips that aren’t making  me any closer to Him but filling my time, nonetheless. Not to say those things are “bad” at all. I believe all things (including technology) can be redeemed, but there is definitely a balance I’ve been failing to find lately. Sometimes when I’m way too distracted, I feel like God is trying to get my attention by continually repeating to me over the white noise, “Can you hear me now, Amber?

If you’re like me, silence isn’t your favorite sound. It’s worth being able to hear your Creator, though, the only One who can give you the direction and comfort You seek. It’s worth being able to hear the One who wants to know your thoughts more than any Facebook “friend.”

What about you? Are you leaving yourself available to hear Him, the One who is found in the stillness?

Leave a comment

Filed under Purpose

Leave a Reply

