2012’s “Word”

My 2012 still doesn’t have its “word“.

That’s about to change.

2012’s word is going to be:

Source

Yes, “FREEEEEDOOOOM,” as William Wallace in Braveheart would say.

Throughout this year, I am asking God to make Galatians 5:13 real to me.

It says:
“For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your
freedom as an  opportunity for the flesh,
but through love serve one another. “

For many different reasons, I don’t always feel like I’m living under the umbrella of freedom in Christ. Whether it’s because I haven’t spent time in His word re-charging my batteries or dispelling the enemy’s condescending lies, or I am giving into my fleshly desires and not seeking His voice, I often silence His still, small voice and miss out on what He has for me.

I miss out on freedom.

That’s not Christ’s fault. That’s mine.

As a Christ-follower, the full power of the Holy Spirit, and the freedom that comes with walking in it, is available to me daily — if I only obey His voice and also use the Armor of God to fight for my joy.

As we all know, though, there are more types of bondage that keep us from freedom than just spiritual warfare.

From financial difficulties many of us have faced in the last few years, to health difficulties, to rifts in our marriage, to wayward children, we’re all dealing with probably at least one freedom-breaker, ones that make us feel like we’re in a prison and far from joyful.

We must remember Christ is still the answer to all of our problems, that true freedom is found in His name and not in different circumstances.

We must take this simple-yet-powerful message to the captives and set the prisoners free.  We must be His hands and feet, especially to the  27 million slaves currently in this world (more on this later).

Through His power, and for the glory of His great name, we must be champions for freedom.  I’m convinced the world can change if we let Him change us and then we unite together, if freedom is our battle cry.

What’s your word for 2012?

2 Comments

Filed under Purpose

2 responses to “2012’s “Word”

  1. Rosanne Bowman

    I have three words – intentional, joyful and fearless. I love this post because I am passionate about people living in freedom. 🙂

  2. Amanda L

    My 2012 word is Relationships. First and most important is my relationship with God, doing something daily to be closer to Him. Second, my relationship with my family. I want to show and tell them how much they mean to me, and more importantly how much they mean to God. Third, relationship with friends, current and new ones to come. Lastly, a life-mate relationship.

Leave a Reply

