Suck It Up

If there’s one thing I’ve been telling myself the last 72 hours or so, it’s been “suck it up, Amber.”

It being the snot and blood stuck up my nose that is continually going down my throat since my surgery on Thursday.  Is it next Thursday yet? I’m very ready to blow my nose!
It being the throbbing in my head from not being able to take pain medication since I’m allergic to it.
It being the itchiness that still hasn’t completely gone away from said allergic reaction to the pain medication.
It being this strange stupor I’ve been in since yesterday morning when I took my first Benadryl to combat the itchiness. Whoever takes this stuff for fun should be shot. It completely has whacked me out

Anyway…

If you can’t tell, I haven’t been feeling myself the past few days. Right now, I’m laying on the couch while my hubby is outside raking leaves or something; he told me what he was going to do, I just don’t really remember what he said. I went to church this morning for our missions conference (thankfully we taped a video beforehand so we didn’t have to speak, just be there) and felt completely dumb falling asleep in the 2nd pew from the front, but alas, the sleep felt good.  I felt bad I couldn’t follow anything the guest speaker was saying, but through it all, I knew Jesus loved me and knew my heart…even if any time someone came to talk to me, they left the conversation more bewildered and confused than ever before. I promise I don’t have a drinking problem. That’d just be the Benadryl talking. The more hours I get between myself and my last dose of it, the better. I’d take the itchiness over this head-in-the-clouds feeling any day.  At least I’m providing some entertainment for John, though I think he’s getting stir cray and ready for me to be back to normal.

I don’t really like not feeling coherent, not remembering when people stop by to visit me, and not being able to hold down a solid conversation with my hubby in more than 3 days, but I know this time will soon pass. I’ll be good as new soon, or so they tell me…so for now, I’ll try my best to rest and suck it up. 🙂

I don’t really know why I wrote this post, so I hope you enjoyed it. I’m sure when I read it in a couple of days I’ll get a good laugh, too. For now, I think I’ll just go back to sleep!

3 Comments

Filed under Random

3 responses to “Suck It Up

  1. Rosanne Bowman

    Suck it up is an interesting title right after sinus surgery! Hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  2. Debbie Lucas

    Praying for a speedy recovery!

  3. Yuck, that sounds awful! I hope you start to feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

