Moley, Moley!

Moles.


Photo credit

Not that kind, though he is kind of cute in his own special way.

No, the human kind:

Photo credit

Some have them. Some don’t. I happen to be of the former population. I get them from my Dad, that and my awesome tanning-while-wearing-high-SPF-sunscreen abilities.

My moles don’t really bother me, honestly. I have so  many different types of scars (feeding tube, chest tubes, port, oh and that whole having my entire chest opened up) a few moles don’t begin to describe the circus that is my body. Most of them are on my back, where I can’t even see them, anyway. Needless to say, my moles may be all over my body, but they’re certainly never really on my mind.

Until today.

Today was my first adventure with a dermatologist, one of the very few types of doctors I’ve never seen. I was on so many antibiotics growing up, I never had the chance to suffer from acne. I rarely even got a pimple during puberty. Than you, Cipro, Bactrim, Tobramycin, Gentamicin, Zithromax, and every other antibiotic I was on prior to transplant!

Though mole-y in certain spots, my skin is beautiful, not flawless but extremely soft and smooth. I  only went to the dermatologist to appease my transplant team, who wants me to have a “full body scan” (fun times, fun times) once a year. The whole fact of me being 20x more susceptible to skin cancer due to my medication makes them a bit leery about having my moles go unchecked.

So, I went.

After sitting for 20 minutes in a cold room in just my bra and underwear (I was told I could leave those on “if I wanted” Umm..you think?!) with some paper a gown draped over me, the friendly doctor arrived. I was a bit anxious about having a “full body scan” by a male doctor.  Yes, I know that male doctors saw my naked chest when I had my transplant surgery, but I wasn’t awake for that. 😉 Thankfully, he was super sweet, knowledgeable and, most importantly, appropriate. A female nurse was with us the whole time,  interpreted his medical jargon and occasional “hmms”, and charted my spots. I didn’t feel mostly naked at all. After the doctor left the room, I was instructed to go sans bra so she could check my chest. I think that was more awkward than having the man check me! Nothing like a woman standing in front of you getting all up in your business while you just watch helplessly…anyways.

All and all, my moles are harmless — except one, that is. I have a pesky, very small mole on my back. There’s just one problem: it’s black. It’s going to have to be removed at the end of the month (after my sinus surgery!), but I’m not too worried about it. The doctor said we just needed to get rid of it and move on with life.  I know there  could have been much, much worse things he could have told me than I have a mole that needs removed.

And I learned a lesson:

Like the pesky mole, God reminded me that sometimes there’s sinful impurities in me that need removed, even if I’m unintentionally not seeing them, or worse yet, choosing not to acknowledge their existence.  The longer they sit, the more damage they can do.

Like a good patient, I will keep checking my physical moles and asking God to rid me of any sinful areas that are keeping me from walking freely in His Spirit.

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Sanctification

One response to “Moley, Moley!

  1. Be thankful the nurse warned you! My OLD doc would feel me up without a bit of warning. She did this on more than one occasion. :S

Leave a Reply

