Oh, Baby!

My mind’s been on babies a lot in the past several months, in particular the last week or so. 

Why, you ask?

Have I been hiding some secret from you all?

Not so much. Though I always enjoy recreating with my husband, as far as we know, we have not procreated.

Many of my friends, though, have, and good for them!

In fact, two of my very closest friends, Rachel and Sara, just had their first offspring, and they were both baby girls.

They’re both absolutely adorable. I know my love for them is just .000001% the love their parents have for them, but I can truly say I love these precious two bundles of sweetness. I think it’s because I love their mommas (and dads) so much, so loving  Ainsley Jo (Rachel’s daughter) and Emiko Rachel (Sara’s daughter) just comes naturally to me.

My love for them also gives me baby fever and maybe a small obsession with buying tiny baby clothes. Can I just say I love baby clothes made for girls? I believe the fact my friends both had girls, who are super easy to buy for and come with a trillion,cute options, has only hindered my baby-clothes-buying obsession. 😉 I hope the girls enjoy the Christmas presents I’ve already bought for them. 🙂

So, anyway, as you can tell. I have a slight case of baby fever.

I didn’t mean to catch the “sickness”. It just…happened.

I blame Ainsley. I held her first. No, I really don’t blame her. I know I had the fever, at least a slight case, before she was born. She and Emi’s births, though, just brought it to the forefront of my mind, as well as my husband’s. He’s held both of them more than once, and let me tell you, he looks really sexy holding a baby. I’m sure your man does, too.

So, how we cure it for both of us? Is it just time to purposefully get knocked up myself?

Even though much of me, and John, wishes so, I’m afraid that’s not the answer right not — at least not quite yet.

We’re praying and thinking through our options, and we will also probably start making plans (whether to just adopt, try to have our own child, or do both) in the next year or so, but for now, the only babies here are those that come to visit (and I hope they visit a lot). We certainly aren’t planning for a baby of our own but would welcome Hunter James or Hannah Grace Payne with open arms, nonetheless. Needless to say, we would be far from disappointed if He chose that path for us before we thought.

While we wait, though, we must be faithful to where God has us NOW.

The “now” means working out our salvation (as individuals and a couple) on a daily basis and always asking for His wisdom and guidance.

The “now” means taking care of my body to the best of my ability to prepare for Lord-willing a pregnancy in the future.

The “now ” means going to work every week day and working to the best of our ability and doing all our work as unto the Lord and not just our employers.

The “now” means working on re-launching what was my, but is now our, ministry for His glory.  This is going to be awesome. 🙂

The “now” means continuing to open our home on a weekly basis for others to gather in prayer and live out Acts 2 and also for me to continue to build community with women in my Bible study.

The “now” means celebrating with and serving those who have, or will, welcome children before us.

During this season of waiting, we are praying in faith for our children.

For people who aren’t even conceived yet, I sure do pray for them an awful lot. I know their daddy does, too.

I ask for your prayers, as well.  Having a baby won’t come easily for us (more on that later, I’m sure), but we truly do believe God can work miracles and give us a child of our own in His timing, not ours. Hey, maybe it’ll happen even sooner than we were thinking, especially if His people start praying. 🙂 We also know He could choose to build our entire family, instead of just part of it, through adoption. That’s the way He’s built His Kingdom and adopted all who know Him, me included. If so, God will be glorified through that, as well. We just want to be parents, no matter how that comes about.

Most of all, we just want to be Christ-followers who will obey Him, no matter the road He’s chosen for us.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Marriage

Leave a Reply

