Quitter

Like many of you, I don’t love my day job.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my boss and greatly appreciate having a job in this economy.

It’s just not the job I would have picked, if God had not hand-picked it for me for such a time as this.

I did, however, love what I did before I got married.

In fact, it (as in not just one thing but a combination of many) was my dream job.

There’s just one problem: I didn’t get paid – a dime – to do any of it.  Seriously.

When we were talking about getting married my soon-to-be-husband didn’t think volunteering every hour of my week, or being constantly gone on the road (or a plane), was going to be good for our marriage. Furthermore, he didn’t see how it would be helpful when it came to paying down his school debt or paying for my monthly drug co-pays.

Bummer.

So, after we got married in Nov. of ’09, I started a “real” job.  It doesn’t allow much extra time for doing the things I “love” but helps pay the bills and save for our family’s future, nonetheless.

My dream, however, never died.  Hardly so.

I’m sure you have a dream, too.

That’s why you need to read the book Quitter by Jon Acuff.

It’s awesome. I don’t know how else to describe it. All I know is it was a huge encouragement to me this past weekend when I was feverishly digesting its FREE pages (thank you Swag Bucks) via my Amazon Kindle app on my phone every spare minute I had.

No, Jon does not tell his readers to just up and quit their day job (though there are days I think we all would like to) to pursue their “dream job”. Instead, he arms them with the mindset they need to balance both and do both as unto the Lord. This may one day lead to the glorious blessing of one being able to actually quit their day job to pursue their dream job and get paid for doing it….or it may not.

Realistically, most of us will inevitably have a full-time job and a part-time dream. The tension will seem unbearable at times, but alas, it will not crush us, even on the days we feel it the most.  There is hope. We can close the gap between our day job and our dream job. What that looks like will be different for everyone, but with God’s guidance, I’m constantly on a journey to find out what that looks like for me.

I have a dream. Do you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Ministry

Leave a Reply

