Staycation…

…all I ever wanted.”

OK, so the song actually says “vacation”. I’m aware.

John and I currently enjoying a “staycation”, however, hence the title. 🙂

To be honest, I wasn’t exactly thrilled about our pending time at home together. I wanted to go somewhere during the 1st period of extended one-on-one time we’ve had off together since our honeymoon over 20 months ago. I wanted to get away from the house within I spend the majority of my time. I work here, for Pete’s sake. I was ready for wide open spaces It wasn’t about wanting to spend a bunch of money, either.

I didn’t care where we want – or what we did –  I just wanted to be anywhere but here.

John had other plans.

He wanted to stay at home and work on home improvement projects that are hard to accomplish just on the weekend or after work during the week. In his mind, this unexpected time he got off of work shouldn’t be “wasted” when there’s “so much left to get done on the house.” Have I mentioned before my husband’s very task-driven? He has a hard time relaxing when there’s still work to be done.

I, on the other hand, can do both. I can separate work from play. I can diligently work on a task for hours on end but then put it away for a time – even if it’s not completed – and take a spontaneous break, trusting that whatever I’m working on will get done on time and to the best of my ability. John’s not blessed with such a skill, at least not yet. He likes things to be done start-to-finish before he feels the liberty to give his attention to something else. Both personality traits are valuable, just different. Opposites do certainly attract.

Needless to say, despite my prodding, we didn’t end up going anywhere.

No, I am typing this blog from our disheveled-and-devoid-of-furniture-family room. I’m in a camping chair watching my husband meticulously paint the walls.

You know what, though?

I’m happy. I’m happy because we’re together.

Last night when we were side-by-side in our camping chairs, holding hands and watching TV, all seemed right with the world. It didn’t matter that we weren’t off at some Caribbean resort or even just a few hundreds of miles away. All that mattered was we were together. That’s all that ever matters.

It also helps that, since we didn’t go anywhere, and I also had last week off (John didn’t), I have had plenty of time to work on the revisions and additions to Breathtaking and will be turning all of that in by the end of the week! 😀 More exciting details on that are to come! I also have had the chance to work much more on my home business than I have had in a long time. It’s been a very refreshing, profitable time for me not only individually-speaking but also in our marriage and for our ministry.

It turns out a “staycation” isn’t so bad after all. 🙂

Us on the 4th of July. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Life, Marriage, Ministry

One response to “Staycation…

  1. Sounds just like our summer right now, from the projects to the camping chairs to the family room! I love the moment at the end of the night when the project is done for the day and we sit out on our deck and enjoy the cool night air, watching the fireflies fade into the twinkling stars.

Leave a Reply

