Priorities

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”
– Psalm 46:10

Priorities.

Each season in life comes with different priorities. We all know that.

Some priorities, though, never change.

For instance, in my life, since November 7, 2009, these 2 always remain the same and always in this order:

1. My relationship with Jesus

2. My marriage

As for what 3-1,000 should be, that’s always a question up for debate, by me and sometimes by others.

It makes me sad that oftentimes those of us who are Christians, those who receive wisdom from the best source ever (i.e. the Holy Spirit who speaks Truth from the Word of God) don’t seem to have our priorities in order.

Me included.

My priorities have had to drastically change as a married woman, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I also know I haven’t arrived.

In such a media-crazed aged, things like Facebook, Twitter and the like can take up way too much of our time, leaving our minds numb and our hands caught up in mindless toil. Then, when we’re away from the computer, smart phones take over and let us know every time someone sends us an email or text.

Dumb. Dumb. Dumb.

The technology itself is not evil – far from it. It’s just what we do with it that can be unhealthy. Each day we all get 24 hours. Some of us are just making better use of that time than others, and if you’re like me, I bet you find yourself being pulled into bowing down to the idol of constant communication more than you should.

I get caught up in mindless toil – all the time.I would never say that checking Facebook was a “priority” in my lists of things to do for the day, but if you’d look at how much I check it some days, you could certainly think so.

My actions are what determine my priorities, not my intentions.
You can have the best of intentions and still not be productive.

Bottom line: I don’t prioritize my time as I should.

I’ve been working on changing that, though, and feel there will be more changes to come.

All of us who are living have to fight for control of our time. After all, if we don’t control it, someone or something inevitably will and we’ll wonder where the time went.

I want to be a good steward of my time — all of it.

What about you?  Do you need to evaluate how you spend your time?  What are changes you’ve made to cultivate healthier prioritization of your time?


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Priorities

  1. This is something that is very convicting to me – I’m always struggling to find a good balance.

Leave a Reply

