Donate Life.

You probably didn’t know that April is National Donate Life Month.

Close to 111,000 people , more people than The Shoe can hold, are currently waiting a organ transplant in the United States.

I used to be one of them.

In 2005, when I was listed, that number was closer to 80,000.

Demand is definitely greater than supply, and that needs to change.

After all, people’s lives are at stake. One day your life may be at stake, you never know.

I spent many years volunteering for this wonderful organization, before I got married and had to get a “real” job. I loved educating teenagers and adults alike about organ and tissue donation. Now that I don’t have as much time to volunteer, I always enjoy the times I get to do things, like an occasional school presentation or radio interview, on behalf of the agency and wish I had more time to do more.

If you have questions or concerns about what organ and tissue donation entails, please read up on the facts about donation (watching House or old episodes of ER does not count, people!) and make an informed decision, before you write off the process all together.

If you aren’t currently listed as an organ donor, please register today!

If you still decide not to be a donor, I respect that decision.

Do I understand it?

No, not at all. Would you, if you were in my shoes?

I can respect it, though, nonetheless.

So, please, donate life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

