“25-34”

“25-34”.

This would be the new “age bracket” in which I fall.

I started noticing it a few weeks ago when I was searching the Internet for more “freebies”.  They always ask you all of these random questions, one always being your age bracket.

Instead of “18-24”, I now have to put “25-34”.

It makes me feel old, to be honest.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. “Old? You’re not old. That’s preposterous thinking.”

To me, though, 25 is old. Remember, I wasn’t supposed to live to see 20, let alone 25.  I’m an old soul living in a twenty-five year old’s body.

Every time I click “25-34”, it gets me thinking.

I think about all of the things society tell you you’re “supposed” to accomplish during these 9 years.

Things like:

  • Get Married – Check
  • Buy a house – Check
  • Get settled into your long-term career – Work in progress
  • Have Kids – Not yet

Then I start thinking about what really matters, and not what society tells me is supposed to happen.

Sure, I’m thankful for my husband and our lovely home, but those things don’t make me who I am, neither does my gross income or the fact I’m not a mom yet.

After all, when you never thought you’d make it to see this age bracket, every day is a blessing.

What makes me who I am is one thing:

Christ and Christ alone

In my “18-24” years, I was able to accomplish a lot of things that society could never afford me.

But God did.

God chose to allow me to get gravely ill and not know if I was going to live, then have a double lung transplant, write a book about it, start a non-profit, speak across the country, and then meet my better half when I was least expecting it.

I’m sure He will find ways to get glory in my life during the “25-34” stage that are far beyond society’s expectations.

I’m looking forward to the privilege of being a part of it. 🙂

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““25-34”

  1. Beth

    Christ can do IMMEASURABLY more than we could ever think or imagine! (Eph. 3:20)

  2. rosanne

    Glad you are here for the next age bracket! 🙂

Leave a Reply

