What’s Your Word?

Is it just me, or is everyone picking a “word” for 2011?

From Ann Voskamp, to my boss, to the girl down the street, it seems everyone has found a word that fully embodies everything they want to be in 2011. That is, everyone has a word but me.  It’s already January 6th. Time is running out to find this empowering word, or so my mind tells me.

Do I have goals for this year? Of course. John and I have already had numerous discussions about what we’d like to work on as individuals as well as corporately in our marriage. I just don’t know yet how to encompass all of those discussions into one word, and honestly, that frustrates me.

I absolutely love words. Receiving words. Giving words. Writing words. Reading words. Words help me breathe, help me feel alive. I don’t know what my words do for others anymore, but I’ll keep writing, because that’s the only way I really know how to live. I realize I’m 3 years removed from publishing my first book and haven’t seemed to be able to pen anything else since (at least not yet), but the power of words and the impact they leave on me has never left me. My impact on others through my writing may have dissipated, or never been there from the beginning, but I love the power of the pen and feel most alive when an empty page is in front of me, just waiting to be filled with honest, thought-provoking prose.

My first work was entitled only one word, so why can’t I come up with this one word for 2011?  Why does this “assignment”, of sorts, seem to be so difficult?  Maybe because I’m not really any good at brevity, as if you didn’t already know that. Just picking one word seems like torture to me.  I could mull over words for hours searching for the right one. I want my word to be rich with meaning, clever…perfect. I haven’t found it yet, but I know it will find me. I’m just hoping soon.

While I wait for my epiphany, I’ll just keep moving forward. In the end, it’s more about what we do than the words we say. A word’s power is only provoked by it’s author’s willingness to unleash and embrace it. For example, you can say your “word” is “contentment”. If you don’t choose to not only ask the Lord to discipline you to be content,  but also choose to participate in your sanctification, repent and change, your word (literally and figuratively speaking) is dead and useless.

So, if you’re not like me, and already have your word for 2011, good for you. Now go and let it inspire you to do something different, not just say you will. I’ll let you know when I find mine. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “What’s Your Word?

  1. Karen

    first, thanks! Thank you for doing what you are doing and sharing with me! That’s cool!

    Now. I know I’m a stranger down here (God’s family is different), so I will try not to weird you out.

    Your words are powerful as they share His words which bring hope and life. Remember you were comforted so you could in turn share the comfort and hope with others.

    I’m not family. I only just stumbled upon your story (GOD!!!). Your humble story of hope in a desperate world!!!!

    So even though you feel far removed, your/HIS words are still going…

    P.S. words is a fantastic word for you!!! HE the WORD + your words!!!!!

    did you notice how many times you used the word words?

    Thanks again,
    Karen

  2. jeff

    I gave this a lot of thought and my word this year is “Accomplish.” TO study God’s word and to use the gifts given to me to bless others. To accomplish the goals put on front of me by god.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement, Karen! 🙂

    “Accomplish” is a great word, Jeff!

Leave a Reply

