Q & A

Ready to have some fun?

Due to having this blog up and running for a few months, I thought it was time to see if you, the reader, had any questions for me. Hundreds of people have logged on and read my thoughts — now I’m letting you take over what I write.

….And, honestly, this gives me a good excuse for still being able to post, when my brain is fried and I can’t seem to come up with any material. I’ll just blame being extremely busy with work and the heat wave here in NW Ohio for my lack of creativity.

So, you have a week from today, July 13, to come up with as many questions for me as you want. I don’t want to get on the ground and beg  you to ask me something, so please just oblige. I mean, c’mon. I’m allowing you to ask anything (within reason — and, if you don’t know me very well, my “reason” is much more open than most). How many people do that on their blogs? I’m asking you to get in my business — take advantage of it!

Let’s face it. We’re humans. We’re nosy if we let ourselves go. For the next week, with me, that’s totally OK.

You can ask me something random, something serious. You can ask 20 questions or just 1. You can ask about my health, my marriage, the ministry, my job, what I ate for breakfast, whatever. You can even ask my husband, John, something, if you want. I’ll make sure he answers. Just please ask something.

Let the fun begin. : -)

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Q & A

  1. Laura

    First let me say, I have really enjoyed all of your writings so far, and even if you must slow down, I hope you never give it up entirely. You live with this life threatening condition and so much has come of it for God’s glory. Just look, you reached this one random person who caught the tail end of an interview on TV as I was running out the door which led to purchasing your book. And if you caught my attention, I can’t even imagine how many other lives you have touched. Now I certainly am not on any track to write a book or be a public speaker. But I do suffer physically from a condition, that while as far as they tell me is not life threatening, is definitely “life-interfering,” meaning painful, often embarrassing, anxiety-inducing, energy-zapping and causes me to miss out on a lot, including ministry opportunites because I am afraid I will have to cancel commitments or get sick in the middle of serving. Plus I get short with my kids and husband, and don’t perform as well at work as I used to, and working 2 jobs I feel doubly ashamed. Mostly I try to hide from everyone that I feel so sick so as not to inconvenience anyone. And sometimes I actually get tired of my closer friends asking me how I’m feeling, isn’t that twisted? How is this bringing glory to God when I’m often so anxious about even leaving the house? My mind constantly returns to the same line of thinking, “this can’t be God’s will, I somehow brought this on myself.” And then the laundry list of all the horrible choices I’ve made in my life just flood over me. I’m sure you meant this project as an all-access pass to Amber the person, and I’m sorry to turn it into an advice column. If you want to throw in your favorite movie and what you and your husband like to do on date night, I’d love to hear those as well.

  2. Hi Amber,
    This is Wanda aka Trinity Rose. I read and reviewed your book on my blog Trinity Rose’s Garden.
    So, yes I have a few questions. 😉

    Are you writing a book now?
    If so what is it about?
    What are some of your likes and dislikes?
    Your hobbies, interests?
    Where do you like to vacation?

    Tell us a little-known fact about yourself that readers may not know.
    What are you currently reading?

    Do you grow flowers or vegetables?
    What are your favorite flowers?

    Have a blessed day,
    Wanda

  3. Cindy

    Amber…I hope I am not intruding. I, of course am nosy and looking for any excuse not to do homework although it is due tonight and it must be done…here I am. While reading Laura’s response I am reminded of Job and the great suffering he endured, not patiently but rather he perservered through tremendous troubled times. He lost everything, was stricken with illness, witnessed the deaths of his children, and his friends were against him. It’s not that he didn’t question God and God’s will, he certainly did that. He even grew angry, tired, and depressed. But deep down in his heart he knew that God knew where he was, even though he couldn’t find God or feel Him. God knew the trials he was enduring and we can take that to the new testmant bank to say that we know He understands! Christ suffered tremendous turmoil, pain, infliction, mockery, and the like. And then I am also reminded of Joshua chapter 1. Be strong and couragous. Do not be afraid, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. Take courage Laura for you God has overcome the world!

    As far as questions go…is there ever a possiblity that you and John will get involved in a marriage ministry? Write a book together or anything like that? Just curious…

  4. Cindy

    I can’t believe I almost forgot the most pressing question. I am considering the seed that God has placed in my heart to eventually write a book, when the timing is right and I know God is calling me to do so. What advice to you have for an inexperienced author? How does one get involved with a publishing company in the first place? I also have a dear friend who is working on finishing up a book. What steps would she need to take to get it published? Thanks Amber!!

  5. Laura

    Thank you Cindy. What a great reminder that what we see as pointless is anything but in God’s plan. So I will stop asking why and start asking “what.” As in “God, what do you want me to learn, change, do?”

Leave a Reply

